Ahead Lagos Tourney: Coach Waldrum invites Oparanozie, Oshoala, 21 others in provisional list

By Harry Awurumibe, Africa’s No.1 Women’s Football Journalist

Super Falcons. ..Nine out of 11 players in the France 2019 FIFA Women World Cup final squad are invited by Coach Waldrum.

Expectedly, Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has finally released the names of 23 players of the senior women’s football team, Super Falcons selected by Head Coach, Randy Waldrum for the maiden edition of the Lagos Invitational Women’s Tournament holding from September 13 to 21, 2021.

The list includes the names of players whom Waldrum have been working with since he took up the job early this year just as most of the invitees were in his team to Turkey Championship in February, Summer Series in Texas, United States of America and recently in Austria camp.

Among the players in the list dominated by overseas-based professionals are first choice goalkeeper, Chiamaka Nnadozie; defenders: Onome Ebi and Osinachi Ohale; midfielders: Rita Chikwelu and Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene and forwards: Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie, Uchenna Kanu and Rasheedat Ajibade.

No fewer than four home-based players also made the list. They are defenders: Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens) and Oluwatosin Demehin (Rivers Angels); midfielder: Goodness Onyebuchi (Edo Queens and Gift Monday (FC Robo), striker.

Take a Look Ref…Super Falcons players ask Referee to check VAR at France 2019 final.

Although, no mention was made by the authorities when the team will start camping, Sportsrevelation authoritatively scooped the Super Falcons may not converge till the second week of September because of club engagements.

The full list of invited players:

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Yewande Balogun (California Storm, USA)

Defenders: Onome Ebi (Minsk FC, Belarus); Glory Ogbonna (Umea FC, Sweden); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Faith Ikidi (Pitea DFF, Sweden); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens); Oluwatosin Demehin (Rivers Angels)

Midfielders: Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene (Eskilstuna United, Sweden); Tony Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Goodness Onyebuchi (Edo Queens); Joy Bokiri (AIK Sweden FC, Sweden)

Forwards: Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Gift Monday (FC Robo Queens); Uchenna Kanu (Linkopings FC, Sweden); Desire Oparanozie (Dijon FC, France); Esther Okoronkwo (Saint Etienne, France) .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *