CAF WCL: Confident Rivers Angels arrive Abidjan, set for WAFU-B tourney

By Harry Awurumibe, Africa’s No.1 Women’s Football Journalist

Awaiting WAFU-B Champions?

Nigeria’s women’s football league champions, Rivers Angels Football Club have arrived Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, venue of

the maiden CAF Women’s Champions League  West Africa Zone B tournament holding from June 24 to August 5, 2021.

A contingent of 56 made up of players, coaching crew, backroom staff and Rivers states government officials who left Port Harcourt on Wednesday evening, passed the night in Lagos to catch their Dana Air flight to Abidjan on Thursday morning.

Sportsrevelation can authoritatively gathered that on arrival in Abidjan, the Nigerian representatives will be driven to Hotel Pergola Beitry, Zone 4 which will also host the Ivorien Champions,
Onze Soeurs de Gagnoa (Eleven Sisters of Gagnoa).
The organizers had earlier informed the clubs that only 56 persons will be  accommodated in the team hotel and  Rivers Angels have complied with the directive as the club looks forward to putting up a creditable performance to pick one of the two tickets to Egypt for the CAF Women’s Champions League final later in the year.
Already, Rivers Angels first opponents in the competition, Hasaacas Ladies of Ghana and USFA of Burkina Faso will lodge at Hotel Golden in Marcory while Amis Du Monde of Togo and Niger’s AS Police will be quartered at Hotel Milliet, Marcory.

On Duty…Rivers Angels Head Coach Edwin Okon

Hotels have also  been confirmed  for match officials like  Referees and Match Commissioners,  including Nigeria’s  Ruth David,  an Acting Director of Competitions in Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) who has been appointed as Match Commissioner.

Meanwhile, the  WAFU-B Secretariat in Abidjan has said the competition will be played in a league format with the six teams divided into two groups with the three teams playing against each other.
The two top sides will progress to the last four of the competition, with the winners of those knockout semi-final matches to slug it out in the final.
While the two winners of the semi-final face off in the final for the title, the finalists will automatically qualify as representatives of the zone for the finals at the inuaugral CAF Women’s Champions League in Egypt later this year.
The WAFU-B will be the only zone to produce two teams at the finals, with the region being the home of the reigning champions of the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) Nigeria.
WAFU-B Group
 Group A:
*Eleven Sisters of Gagnoa (Ivory Coast)
*Union Sportive des forces Armees (Burkina Faso)
*Friends of the World Football Club (Togo)
Group B
*Rivers Angels Football Club (Nigeria)
*Hasaacas Ladies Football Club (Ghana)
*Police Sports Association (Niger).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *