D’Tigers, D’Tigress final squads for Tokyo 2020 Olympics complete 

Harry Awurumibe, Editor-in-Chief

Nigeria’s D’Tigers set for Tokyo 2020 actions

Expectedly, Coaches of Nigeria’s senior Basketball teams, D’Tigers and D’Tigress have released their final 12-man rosters, ahead of the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.

After one month of close camping in Sacramento and Las Vegas, United States of America (USA), D’Tigers’ American Head Coach, Mike Brown, in his wisdom picked no fewer than eight National Basketball Association (NBA) stars including Josh Okogie (Minnesota Timberwolves) and Miami Heat’s trio of Gabe Vincent, KZ Okpala and Precious Achiuwa.

Also, Jahlil Okafor (Detroit Pistons), Miye Oni (Utah Jazz) make the cut and are all in line to make their debut for Nigeria.

Jordan Nwora (Milwaukee Bucks) whose club is still involved in NBA Final will join Caleb Agada (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Obi Emegano (Fuenlbrada, Spain), Chimezie Metu (Sacramento Kings) and Ike Nwamu (Samara, Russia).

The team will also have Ekpe Udoh, who just completed a move to Virtus Bologna in the Italian Serie A.

D’Tigers are in the same group with Italy, Australia and Germany.

Nigeria’s D’Tigress set for Olympics action

Meanwhile, for the D’Tigress, Coach Otis Hughley listed veterans Adaora Elonu, Aisha Balarabe, Elizabeth Balogun, Promise Amukamara, Atonye Nyingifa and Ezinne Kalu as well as Pallas Kunaiyi-Akpannah and Ify Ibekwe to fly Nigeria’s flag at the Olympics.

Coach Hughley also picked Oderah Chidom, Victoria Macaulay, Erica Ogwumike and Amy Okonkwo. The four players are in line to make their competitive debut for Nigeria in Tokyo, Japan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *