AFCON 2021 qualifiers: Rohr recalls Iheanacho; pick Musa, Ekong, 21 others for Leone Stars

Harry Awurumibe,  Abuja

Dancing Time…Super Eagles players celebrating a goal in a recent match. They will face Sierra Leone next.

Apparently impressed by his recent good form in the English Premier League,
Nigeria’s Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernor Rohr has recalled Leicester City forward, Kelechi Iheanacho just as he has
listed team captain, Ahmed Musa, vice- captain, William Troost-Ekong and veteran defender Kenneth Omeruo in his 24-man roster for the quick-double 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifying fixture against the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone this month.

Rohr also invited two first-timers, Germany-based defender, Kingsley Ehizibue of FC Koln and Holland-based forward, Cyril Dessers as well as several familiar faces like goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi; defenders Leon Balogun and Olaoluwa Aina; midfielder Wilfred Ndidi and forwards Alex Iwobi and Victor Osimhen

In all, the Franco-German football tactician listed three goalkeepers, eight defenders, five midfielders and eight forwards.

Nigeria, on maximum six points from their first two matches of the campaign and in somewhat comfortable lead in their pool, host the Leone Stars at the Stephen Keshi Stadium in Asaba on Friday, March 27 before flying to Freetown to confront the Stars at the Siaka Stevens Stadium in the return leg four days later.

All invited players, as well as technical and administrative officials, are to report in the Delta State capital on Monday, March 23 just as victory in both games will virtually guarantee Nigeria a spot at the 33rd AFCON scheduled for Cameroon early next year, ahead of their away clash to Benin Republic in Porto Novo in June and home tie against Lesotho early September.

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Wigan Athletic, England); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kingsley Ehizibue (FC Koln, Germany)

Midfielders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Etebo Oghenekaro (Getafe FC, Spain); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyril Dessers (Heracles Almelo, The Netherlands); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *