CAF Women’s CL: At last, Eight clubs to play in 2021 inaugural competition

Harry Awurumibe, Editor-in-Chief

Ahmad Ahmad, CAF President

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced that only eight lucky top football clubs will participate in the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League which will take place in 2021 just as it revealed that

six CAF zones will organise qualifications to determine the eight finalists, Sportsrevelation can report.
The decision was among the far-reaching decisions taken by CAF on Thursday even as it stated that finalists from zonal qualifications will play in the eight-team tournament.
The first edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League will see the zonal Union of the host country have two representatives, but the following editions will see host countries with one representative while the reigning Champion’s Zone Union will have two representatives.
The eight qualified Clubs will then be drawn into two groups of four teams each in accordance with the regulations. The competition will be annual and take place during the second semester.
Meanwhile, the CAF Women’s Champions League has been long in coming after top officials of CAF in charge of Women’s Football Development Unit held a meeting with this reporter in 2018 during the last African Women’s Nations Cup (AWCON) in Ghana to get his opinion as the foremost women’s football journalist cum promoter. The CAF chieftains had promised that CAF Women’s Champions League will debut soon.
However, women’s football stakeholders across Africa including top players  have welcomed the CAF Women’s Champions League initiative with some giving CAF high five for the new competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *