2023: We ‘ll host best FIFA Women’s World Cup ever, says Australia FA Chairman

Harry Awurumibe, Editor Abuja Bureau

Eyes on the Ball. ..An Australian player takes on two Norwegian opponents at the last FIFA Women World Cup in France.

Apparently delighted by his country’s successful bid to host the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup final, Football Federation Australia Chairman, Chris Nikou has
assured that the Aussies will not disappoint the world.

Speaking shortly after Australia and New Zealand were name co-host nations by FIFA for the global women’s football event Thursday, Nikou stated that they will do everything possible to organize a successful competition.

“Our pledge to the FIFA family is that no stone will be left unturned to produce the best World Cup and grow the women’s game globally and in the Asia-Pacific region”, the Federation boss assured.

Also commenting on the good news,
Australia’s senior women’s football team, the Matildas captain, Sam (Samantha) Kerr said she cannot wait to play in her home country, adding it will be the highlight of her glittering football career.

“The opportunity to play in a home FIFA Women’s World Cup is something every footballer dreams of and I am looking forward to seeing those dreams come true. Playing for the Matildas in Australia will be the highlight of my career and an opportunity to inspire girls, both in Australia and New Zealand, and all over the world to play football”, Kerr said.

Meanwhile, the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup which will hold in the two countries from July 10 to August 20, 2023
promises to be an historic event on multiple levels.

The announcement on Thursday at FIFA Headquarters in Zurich that Australia and New Zealand will play host means that the 2023 edition of the Women’s World Cup will be the first in the Southern Hemisphere, and the first to feature in the Oceania Football Confederation. It will also be the first edition to feature 32 teams, up from 16 teams as recently as 2011.

In July 2019, FIFA President Gianni Infantino had in July 2019 proposed an expansion of the Women’s World Cup from 24 to 32 teams, possibly starting with the 2023 edition, as well as doubling the tournament’s prize money.

On July 31, 2019, the FIFA Council unanimously decided to expand the tournament to 32 teams, featuring eight groups of four teams each. The United States is the defending Champion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *