2019 CAF Awards: How Oshoala beat Adjara to 4th title

Harry Awurumibe, Head, Abuja Bureau

Queen of African…Asisat Lamina Oshoala with her FIFA Woman of the Match Trophy in France last year. She won the 4th CAF Woman Best Player Award in Egypt yesterday.

More facts have emerged why Nigeria and FC Barcelona women’s team star, Asisat Lamina Oshoala edged her arch-rival, Adjara Nchout of Cameroon to the African Women’s Player of the Year at the CAF Awards 2019.

Oshoala and Senegal and Liverpool’s goalpoacher, Sadio Mane were crowned as African Player of the Year and African Women’s Player of the Year at the CAF Awards 2019 held at the Albatros Citadel Sahl Hasheesh Resort in Hurghada, Egypt yesterday.

The 28th edition of the prestigious CAF Awards celebrated African footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the 2019 football circle.

Super Falcons ace, Oshoala garnered a total of 351 votes, 30 more than Cameroonian forward, Adjara Nchout and Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa who got 247 votes to place third. She won it last year in Lagos.

By this feat Oshoala who was named African Women’s Player of the Year for the fourth time has equalled the record of her compatriot and living legend, Perpetua Ijeoma Nkwocha who herself won the Award on four occasions while the third Nigerian winner, Cynthia Uwak won only once.

Meanwhile, Sportsrevelation can reveal that Oshoala beat Nchout to the crown after the voting panel of CAF Technical & Development Committee, Media Experts, Legends considered many factors including the disciplinary records of the players both for club and country.

It was learnt that the voting panel which also include the Head Coaches / Technical Directors of CAF Member Associations, Captains of CAF Member Associations Women’sNational Teams may have considered the near fiasco that erupted in the Round of 16 match between Cameroon and England where Cameroonian players lost their cool following certain decisions by the referees which did not go down well with the world football ruling body FIFA.

For the above reasons, the voting panel in both phase 1 and phase 2 voted for Oshoala hence she emerged the African Women’s Player of the year

In another development, former Super Falcons Head Coach, Thomas Dennerby was not considered good enough for the
African Women’s Coach of the Year Award 2019 which was won by Desiree Ellis of Banyana Banyana /South Africa.

Also, the Nigerian duo of Samuel Chukwueze and Victor Osimhen lost the African Youth Player of the Year Award 2019 to Moroccan/ Borussia Dortmund star, Achraf Hakimi.

For the Interclub Player of the Year Award, Youcef Belaili won the prize following his stellar performance for his club X in the CAF Champions League with Esperance.

Djamel Belmadi and Desiree Ellis picked the AfrIcan Coach of the Year Award- male.

Full list of the Awards:
*Award WinnersAfrican Player of the YearSadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

*African Women’s Player of the YearAsisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

*African Interclubs Player of the YearYoucef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

*African Youth Player of the YearAchraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

*African Men’s Coach of the YearDjamel Belmadi (Algeria – Algeria)

*African Women’s Coach of the YearDesiree Ellis (South Africa)

*African Men’s National Team of the YearAlgeria

*African Women’s National Team of the YearCameroon

*Federation of the YearEgyptian Football Association

*Special AwardKojovi Obilale (former Togolese goalkeeper)

*CAF Fifpro Best XI
Goalkeeper: Andre Onana

Defenders: Achraf Hakimi, Serge Aurier, Joel Matip, Kalidou Koulibaly

Midfielders: Idrissa Gueye, Riyad Mahrez, Hakim Ziyech

Forwards: Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *