Again, no Nigerian club for last FIFA Club World Cup in 2020

Champions Pose…Two-time CAF Champions League Winners, Enyimba International of Aba will not play in the FIFA Club World Cup 2020.

Harry Awurumibe, Abuja
No Nigerian football club side will once again represent Africa in the six continents FIFA Club World Cup billed for Qatar in December 2020 just as the football governing body has concluded plans to change the format of the competition from 2021.                                                                                                                                                            Nigerian clubs are not in contention to win the Confederation of African Football (CAF) elite club competition, the CAF Champions League in the 2019/2020 season as her representatives in the game, Enyimba International and Kano Pillars FC crashed out early in the preliminary stage. Enyimba is playing in the lower CAF Confederation Cup.
According to information from the world football headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland. Qatar will host the last tournament in current format following the country’s successful hosting of the 2019 edition which was won by the Champions of England and Europe, Liverpool FC.
‘The FIFA Club World Cup will be revamped in 2021, with Qatar set to host the last tournament in the existing format at the end of 2020”, FIFA statement read.
Newly crowned following their victory over Flamengo in the 2019 final, Liverpool could well retain their UEFA Champions League title and represent Europe once more.
Following its creation in 2000, the competition has been won 12 times by European teams and on four occasions by South America’s finest. Which confederation will lift the trophy aloft for the final time before the tournament has its makeover is yet to be known.
Meanwhile, other important football events in 2020 are as follows:
• Qualifying competitions for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022
• FIFA eClub World Cup (7-9 February)
• FIFA eNations Cup (22-24 May)
• FIFA eWorld Cup (August 2020)
• UEFA EURO 2020 (12 June-12 July)
• Copa America (12 June-12 July)
• CONCACAF Nations League (June)
• OFC Nations Cup (6-20 June)
• CAF African Nations Championship (4-25 April)
• CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (28 November-12 December)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *